Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

Books To Read: March 2012

Books to Read for March 2012

Books to Read for March 2012

March! The last month of the first quarter. And a new set of reading plan. Okay, now I really, really have to follow this reading plan. I know, I shouldn’t be too austere with reading; it takes away the joy of reading, yes? But I beg to disagree. I actually enjoy the imposition of rigorous reading discipline.

Currently, I am still running through the last hundred pages of Number9Dream and barely touched The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. A huge backlog! I am not even sure if I should adjust my self-required five books per month, which is actually six because I still need to add our book group’s book of the month.

I did some computing, like how many pages should I read each day, and I think this could be managed. Here are the books:

  • Play It As It Lays by Joan Didion – this is not on the original plan, but after seeing a copy of it at Book Sale and buying it for Kwesi,¬†a bookish friend who bought me a Hamsun book, we decided to buddy read it. Why did I even push this book to him? I think this is about the angsty 1950′s, something that I hope my future book buddy would appreciate.
  • The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek – a controversial book. I’ve seen the film adaptation, and I love it. I can’t help wondering how it goes in the book. Two of my bookish friends hate this to the bone, and I am hoping to love this book for the sake of eternal argument. I’m not merely playing the devil’s advocate, but there’s something interesting about a classy and reserved¬†piano teacher dreaming of sadomasochistic pleasures.
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel – a pretty popular book. I got a not so bookish friend to read this. I don’t think he immensely enjoyed it, him being an annual reader, but he admits the finer points that the book has to offer. I think what initially drew him to the book is the major premise: a boy and a tiger together on a boat at the middle of the sea.
  • The Echo Maker by Richard Powers – not sure what to make of this, but the title appeals to me. Please don’t judge me. If people make choices based on book covers alone, perhaps I could be forgiven? If memory serves me right, this is something about a man who met an accident and gropes around for his memories?
  • The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch – this is a part of a reading challenge that I am participating this year. This is not a classic if we just use the publication year as the sole basis, but with Murdoch slowly hardening into a marble statue of a respected writer, this should count. Whoever said that classics only come from the 19th century and backwards must be slapped with a stinging backhand.

This is going to be a long month. Happy reading!

14 Responses to “Books To Read: March 2012”

  1. themisanthropologist

    I’ve only read The Life of Pi and I thought it was pretty good. Good luck! Those book don’t seem very thick so I’m sure you’ll breeze by them :)

    Reply
  2. Tina

    I want to read the Life of Pi only because of the tiger. Probably just because of that. :P

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Haha, maybe it will help you get through it? Atty. Monique adores the book, also probably because of the tiger. :D

    • Monique

      No, it’s not just because of the tiger. Haha! :P

      Hey, Tintin loves that book, too. And I loved her review of it. :)

      I was wondering what the 6th book at the top of the pile was. Pampabigat lang pala. Bwahaha. :P

    • Angus Miranda

      Haha, true! The top book keeps falling off without the top book. And it’s actually The Backlog, so I had to put it there, hehe.

  3. theveryhungrybookworm

    The Piano Teacher and The Life of Pi! Truly enjoyed both of them, probably Pi more than The Piano Teacher though. I didn’t know that there was a movie! I will have to check it out.

    Reply

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

