Books To Read: March 2012

Books to Read for March 2012

March! The last month of the first quarter. And a new set of reading plan. Okay, now I really, really have to follow this reading plan. I know, I shouldn’t be too austere with reading; it takes away the joy of reading, yes? But I beg to disagree. I actually enjoy the imposition of rigorous reading discipline.

Currently, I am still running through the last hundred pages of Number9Dream and barely touched The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. A huge backlog! I am not even sure if I should adjust my self-required five books per month, which is actually six because I still need to add our book group’s book of the month.

I did some computing, like how many pages should I read each day, and I think this could be managed. Here are the books:

  • Play It As It Lays by Joan Didion – this is not on the original plan, but after seeing a copy of it at Book Sale and buying it for Kwesi, a bookish friend who bought me a Hamsun book, we decided to buddy read it. Why did I even push this book to him? I think this is about the angsty 1950’s, something that I hope my future book buddy would appreciate.
  • The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek – a controversial book. I’ve seen the film adaptation, and I love it. I can’t help wondering how it goes in the book. Two of my bookish friends hate this to the bone, and I am hoping to love this book for the sake of eternal argument. I’m not merely playing the devil’s advocate, but there’s something interesting about a classy and reserved piano teacher dreaming of sadomasochistic pleasures.
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel – a pretty popular book. I got a not so bookish friend to read this. I don’t think he immensely enjoyed it, him being an annual reader, but he admits the finer points that the book has to offer. I think what initially drew him to the book is the major premise: a boy and a tiger together on a boat at the middle of the sea.
  • The Echo Maker by Richard Powers – not sure what to make of this, but the title appeals to me. Please don’t judge me. If people make choices based on book covers alone, perhaps I could be forgiven? If memory serves me right, this is something about a man who met an accident and gropes around for his memories?
  • The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch – this is a part of a reading challenge that I am participating this year. This is not a classic if we just use the publication year as the sole basis, but with Murdoch slowly hardening into a marble statue of a respected writer, this should count. Whoever said that classics only come from the 19th century and backwards must be slapped with a stinging backhand.

This is going to be a long month. Happy reading!