Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

Books To Read: February 2012

Books to Read for February 2012

Books to Read for February 2012

I know, I know, I’m a little behind on my reading. One book behind, and still slugging through Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping. It’s been a busy month, what with me… oversleeping during the weekends. Hahaha. Now you see how many hours are wasted with sleep? If people do not need sleep, I wouldn’t know how to manage my reading, what with all the time in our hands. Which is a good thing, right?

Anyway, I’ll try my best to finish the unfinished January books, and then I’ll proceed with these:

  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon – looks like a chunkster, but I am hoping that this will be a faster than expected read. The ratings of some of my bookish friends are very promising. I also think this is one of those “cool” books.
  • Number9Dream by David Mitchell – my third Mitchell book within 12 months! One of my highly anticipated books, the title of this is adapted from a John Lennon song. Not a fan of the iconic musician, but this looks fun. I peeked at the last chapter, Chapter 9, and it’s… blank! Hmm.
  • Fatelessness by Imre Kertesz – I reorganized my reading plan just to make me read this book immediately. I don’t know; it attracts me like a magnet. I even nominated this in one of the Nobel book groups that I am a member of. I think it has something to do with Jewish concentration camps.
  • Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth – short stories! It’s been a while. I don’t think I read short story anthologies last year. I might be reading this concurrently with the other books, treat it as a sort of break if ever I feel stuck in a particular book. I don’t think though that being stuck will happen since I’m excited to read the first three.
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess – I’ll be reading this more critically than the others because the bookish friend who gave this is expecting me to give her a non-Wikipedia summary of the book. This could be a struggle, but hey, we’ll take the challenge.

I know, there are only 29 days this month. I have considered that, plus the unfinished books. Looks like I won’t be making an effort to go on romantic dates during the love month.

8 Responses to “Books To Read: February 2012”

    • Angus Miranda

      I know! But really, I’d rather date these books. At least they’d be a part of me until my memory betrays me. :)

    • Angus Miranda

      If it’s cool, I think speed will follow. I mean, if one is so engaged with the book, the enthusiasm just keeps on flowing. :)

  1. aliciacooksnbooks

    What a fantastic list you’ve got this month! Good luck, and enjoooooooy!

    Reply
  2. Monique

    I’m still looking for a copy of Clockwork Orange. Might check out from Book Depository when they go on a 24 hour-sale. :D

    Reply

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

