Books to Read for February 2012

Books To Read: February 2012

I know, I know, I’m a little behind on my reading. One book behind, and still slugging through Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping. It’s been a busy month, what with me… oversleeping during the weekends. Hahaha. Now you see how many hours are wasted with sleep? If people do not need sleep, I wouldn’t know how to manage my reading, what with all the time in our hands. Which is a good thing, right?

Anyway, I’ll try my best to finish the unfinished January books, and then I’ll proceed with these:

  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon – looks like a chunkster, but I am hoping that this will be a faster than expected read. The ratings of some of my bookish friends are very promising. I also think this is one of those “cool” books.
  • Number9Dream by David Mitchell – my third Mitchell book within 12 months! One of my highly anticipated books, the title of this is adapted from a John Lennon song. Not a fan of the iconic musician, but this looks fun. I peeked at the last chapter, Chapter 9, and it’s… blank! Hmm.
  • Fatelessness by Imre Kertesz – I reorganized my reading plan just to make me read this book immediately. I don’t know; it attracts me like a magnet. I even nominated this in one of the Nobel book groups that I am a member of. I think it has something to do with Jewish concentration camps.
  • Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth – short stories! It’s been a while. I don’t think I read short story anthologies last year. I might be reading this concurrently with the other books, treat it as a sort of break if ever I feel stuck in a particular book. I don’t think though that being stuck will happen since I’m excited to read the first three.
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess – I’ll be reading this more critically than the others because the bookish friend who gave this is expecting me to give her a non-Wikipedia summary of the book. This could be a struggle, but hey, we’ll take the challenge.

I know, there are only 29 days this month. I have considered that, plus the unfinished books. Looks like I won’t be making an effort to go on romantic dates during the love month.