Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh

Brideshead Revisited - Evelyn Waugh
Brideshead Revisited - Evelyn Waugh

Date Started: November 8, 2011. 8:45 PM.

One of my bookish friends told me that this is a gay novel, so when I read the prologue, which is about a regiment transferring to another camp, I thought of that gay fetish. Men in uniform.

But no, as far as Chapter Three, I did not notice anything overtly gay. Sure, the characters talked like little gay bitches, which never fail to amuse me, but a love between two men is not yet given away.

Unless I am missing all the subtleties enmeshed in the fun, if rather campy, dialogues.

The truth is I had a little trouble shifting from my previous read to this one, but with the amusing writing, it’s not that hard to get ahead and lose control in your reading lest you get bloodshot eyes from sleeplessness the next day.