Atomised – Michel Houellebecq

Atomised - Michel Houellebecq

Atomised - Michel Houellebecq

Date Started: October 3, 2011. Around 10:30 PM.

Oh my, what is this? Why haven’t I read this immediately when I bought it fresh from a regular book store? At least it was able to retain that papery smell distinct to newly bought books.

This is about two half-brothers who grew up separately without their common mothers. One is a social klutz, one is a sex addict. But that’s not what makes it really interesting. The narrative is fast-paced. The author weaves in and out of the narration to present factual and scientific matters, complete with scientific names. I find that informative, funny, and strikingly original.

He also makes wise use of his words. Not too elaborate, not too laborious. The history of the two boys is given without much detail yet it pretty much covers their background, giving us an insight on why they are the way the are at the present. When describing a boy who always sits at the back of the classroom, he writes, “His is a fragile kingdom.” And how could someone think in the lines of this: “Was she masturbating while listening to Brahms?” And no, I did not refer to my copy. I remember these two lines by heart.

(Image courtesy of Amazon.com)