Deliverance – James Dickey

Deliverance - James Dickey

Deliverance - James Dickey

Date Started: September 14, 2011. Around 11 PM.

This is serendipity. The book has five chapters. The first one is entitled Before, the last one is After, and the three chapters in between are September 14, 15, and 16. And I didn’t intend to start this on any of these dates.

And yes, the writing reminds me of Joseph Conrad, mostly because I can sense that it’s going to depict something about men lost in the wilds, conquering their fears and outlasting each other. First part is good enough, although it’s not something that I would keep me up all night. The case is otherwise; I had to battle against my loopiness just to get through the next chapter.

And I didn’t succeed. I don’t usually stop at mid-chapter, but I can’t help it. I guess I’ve been too tired for the past days.