The Bridge Of San Luis Rey – Thornton Wilder

The Bridge Of San Luis Rey - Thornton Wilder

The Bridge Of San Luis Rey - Thornton Wilder

Date Started: August 31, 2011. 9:20 PM.

Starting September, I am imposing upon myself to read a minimum of 45 pages per weekday and 90 pages per non-working day. So I started this book on a weekday. 45 pages, I muttered. I read the foreword. Hmm. And then the introduction. Interesting. And then chapter 1. And chapter 2. 45 pages already? I am not yet sleepy. It’s 11 PM. I went on. Chapter 3. Time check: a few minutes to 12. I have to wake up early. But I have to finish this. I’m halfway through it. I closed the book and slept instead.

Don’t you just hate working? Anyway, The Bridge of San Luis Rey is about five people who died on the tragic collapsing of a bridge. Ironically, before that event, some of the characters are supposed to start anew with what’s left of their lonely lives. I said some of the characters because I have not yet chronicled the lives of the others who were also on that bridge.

This is a beautiful book. It is a real classic, not because it is hard to read, which is the common notion, but because of its timeless appeal.