Ilustrado – Miguel Syjuco

Ilustrado - Miguel Syjuco

Ilustrado - Miguel Syjuco

Date Started: August 25, 2011. 10:30 PM

Based on the rants and raves that I caught here and there, this is a love it or hate it book. Some thought it was funny and witty, which I gathered from my reading of the prologue, and some thought it was unwieldy and pretentious, which I also got from that. I even learned read a few words for the first time thanks to the prologue.

But what struck me is the dead protagonist’s statement about being the first Filipino to be recommended for the Nobel Prize for Literature. If we talk about facts, Amado Yuzon is “the first Filipino, the first Asian and first man to be recommended for the Nobel Prize award for Peace and Literature four times in the history of the Nobel Prizes.” Why do I know this? It’s because Mr. Yuzon is a Kapampangan, and got this information during my Kapampangan fever back in college. I am a Kapampangan, by the way.

I am wondering if Syjuco is mocking the dearth of internationally-acclaimed Filipino writers or if he totally overlooked Mr. Yuzon’s contribution to the Philippine letters. And I am also wondering if there will ever be a Filipino Nobel laureate. Or is there already one?