Ilustrado – Miguel Syjuco

Ilustrado - Miguel Syjuco

Ilustrado - Miguel Syjuco

Who bought it: Me.

What is it: From what I gathered, I think it’s about the investigation of a Filipino writer’s death who probably met his tragic end because of his controversial manuscript.

When: July 30, 2011

Where: National Book Store – Power Plant

Why: I told myself that I should read a book by a Filipino author for the month of August. Why? In case you forgot or in case you are not a Filipino, August is the month when the Philippine national language is honored and celebrated. I should be reading a novel in the local language then, yes? I’m sorry, but I haven’t made up my mind yet regarding that. I have been so focused on English novels that I have not given local novels a serious thought. One day, I will come to that.

How much: Php 230.50, 20% discount included.