The Line Of Beauty – Alan Hollinghurst

The Line Of Beauty - Alan Hollinghurst
The Line Of Beauty - Alan Hollinghurst

Date Started: August 14, 2011. 11:55 PM.

I am reading this book with an online buddy. During that time when we set the start date for this, this online buddy was saying something about gay power. I was like, huh? Is this a gay book? I could not believe it. There is no hint on the book blurb. There was something about Margaret Thatcher, but nothing that close to homosexuality.

That was almost two weeks ago. And now that I started to read, the gayness in the book is made clear. The protagonist is gay who is preparing for a blind date. That’s in the first chapter. The second chapter reveals a rather graphic gay sex scene immediately after the blind date. And they were not even drunk.

I have high hopes for this book. I hope it’s not only about being gay. I am gay, but I don’t glorify it. I prefer more all-encompassing themes than gayness per se.