The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner - Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner - Khaled Hosseini

Who bought it: A GR-Filipinos member.

What is it: I have no idea. The original owner said that it is one of her all-time favorite books.

When: April 10, 2011

Where: McDonald’s – El Pueblo, Pasig City

Why: I participated in this book swap with a twist. I think it’s called the White Elephant swap. A leader draws lots. The person who gets to be picked first chooses a book from the participants’ pile of books. Another drawing of lots. The next person picked can either choose a book from the pile or steal a book that was already chosen. If a book is stolen from a participant, that participant picks another book from the pile. Also, a book can only be stolen thrice, so the book is officially locked to the person on the third stealing. This cycle goes on until all names are drawn and everyone has a book.

How much: The book I put in the pile was The Helmet Of Horror by Victor Pelevin. It’s the prize that I won from a flash fiction contest. I have not read it. Nobody seemed to want it.