Independent People – Halldór Laxness

Independent People - Halldór Laxness
Independent People - Halldór Laxness

Who bought it: Me. I am back to the book hoarder that I used to be.

What is it: It should be an Icelandic novel. I saw the name Bjartur. Reminds me of Bjork.

When: February 8, 2011

Where: Books for Less – SM Mall of Asia

Why: I went to this mall to have my copy of War And Peace replaced. It was lacking around 50 pages. While waiting for the bookstore staff to get a hold of those people in their enigmatic warehouse, I went around the mall. I found this secondhand bookstore. I saw the book under a stack. I pulled it out. It’s written by a Nobel laureate. I fell in love with the cover. I winced a little, but I still bought it. It’s a good thing I did because when I went back to the other bookstore to get my new copy of War And Peace, I was told to wait until Friday.

How much: Php 248.00

(Image courtesy of Tower.com)